Easy access savings accounts explained

An easy access savings account lets you pay in and take out money whenever you like, with no notice period and usually no withdrawal charges. Here is how these accounts work, what they cost, the minimum deposits, how interest is paid, and what happens when fixed deals and bonus rates end.

Easy access savings accounts explained

An easy access savings account is a savings account built for flexibility: you pay money in whenever you have some to spare and take it out again whenever you need it, with no notice period to serve and, in most cases, no charge for withdrawing. Tesco Bank describes these accounts as letting you "pay in and take out money whenever you need to", and notes they are sometimes called easy access accounts1. Yorkshire Building Society calls them "a flexible type of savings account where you can take money out if you need to"2.

The trade-off for that freedom is the interest rate. Easy access rates are variable, meaning the provider can change them, and Which? reported in September 2023 that there was a difference of more than a percentage point between the best easy access rate and the top fixed-rate deal at the time3. In other words, you give up some interest in exchange for being able to reach your money instantly. For an emergency fund or money you may need at short notice, that is usually a price worth understanding rather than a reason to avoid the account type: the debt advice charity StepChange specifically recommends an instant access account for emergency savings4.

They are also the most widely held kind of savings account. A Saga survey in November 2024 found 82% of respondents who held savings had an easy access savings account, more than any other type5.

How easy access savings accounts work: pay in and take out whenever you like

The defining feature of an easy access account is that your money is not locked up. Gatehouse Bank's key product information states plainly: "This is an Easy Access savings account, and you can access your money at any time without restrictions"8. Hodge describes its Easy Access account in the same terms: it "lets you deposit and withdraw money whenever you need it"9. There is no fixed term, so there is no maturity date to wait for and no early exit question to consider.

That said, "whenever you want" has a practical boundary at some providers. Raisin's guidance on opening a savings account notes that while easy access accounts allow withdrawals whenever you want, "some do limit the number of withdrawals" you can make10. An account with a withdrawal cap sits between true easy access and a limited access account, and the cap is always stated in the account's summary box before you open it.

Speed of access also varies with how the account is run. Hargreaves Lansdown, whose Active Savings service includes easy access products, says you can move your money out whenever you like and that it usually takes one working day11. That is the pattern for online and app-based accounts: the withdrawal is immediate in the sense that you request it on demand, but the money then has to travel to your current account, which can take a working day or so. Branch-based and passbook accounts can pay out over the counter on the spot.

Easy access is one of several ways a savings account can be structured, and it sits at the flexible end of the scale. Notice accounts require you to give warning before withdrawing, fixed-rate bonds lock your money for a set term in exchange for a known rate, and regular savings accounts ask for monthly deposits. Easy access asks for nothing except that you accept a variable rate. The full range is set out in types of savings account.

Withdrawals are usually free, but some accounts limit how many you make

For most easy access accounts, taking money out costs nothing. Shawbrook states that you can withdraw from its Easy Access Plus, Easy Access Cash ISA, Easy Access or Bonus Easy Access Savings Accounts at any point, with no early exit charges12, and its account help pages confirm withdrawals are available for next working day access without incurring early exit charges13. thisbank makes the point directly about its Easy Access Savings Account: "This is why you'll never have to pay us to access your own money"14. Virgin Money's Easy Access Cash ISA Exclusive carries the same promise: "Access your money anytime, with no charges"15.

The catch, where there is one, is not a fee but a condition. Which? reported in September 2023 that some easy access accounts "may also limit the number of withdrawals you can make each year without losing interest"3. Under that kind of rule, the withdrawal itself is free, but exceeding the allowance reduces the interest the account pays, either on the whole balance or on the amount withdrawn, depending on the account's terms. The Consumer Council for Northern Ireland describes the standard position: instant access accounts pay interest and you can withdraw money whenever you need to11.

Withdrawal ruleWhat it means for you
Unlimited free withdrawalsThe norm; money available on demand with no charge12
Annual withdrawal capFree withdrawals up to a limit; further withdrawals lose interest3
Restricted accountsSome accounts limit withdrawals per year; these are closer to limited access accounts10

If you expect to dip into the account often, the withdrawal rules matter more than a small difference in rate. An account paying a slightly higher rate but charging away interest after two withdrawals can end up worse for a frequent withdrawer than a lower-paying account with no cap. The rules are always in the summary box, and there is a dedicated guide to reading a savings summary box.

Instant access, easy access and easy saver: the same kind of account

The names are interchangeable in everyday use. Tesco Bank's savings guidance says instant access accounts "are sometimes called easy access accounts"1, and brands use their own labels on top of that: Santander International calls its version the Easy Saver Account16, and TSB markets its range as instant access savings17. Whatever the badge says, the product underneath is the same: a variable-rate savings account with money available on demand.

The label to watch for is not "easy" or "instant" but anything that qualifies it. An account described as limited access, single access or notice-based is a different product with different rules, however easy the name sounds. When comparing accounts, the withdrawal terms in the summary box settle the question, not the branding.

One genuine distinction within the flexible family is between ordinary savings accounts and cash ISAs. Which?'s guidance on whether ISAs are worthwhile notes that in 2025-26 instant access savings accounts enjoyed higher rates on average than instant access cash ISAs, though there were three months in which average cash ISA rates were on top18. The two serve different purposes: an ordinary easy access account pays interest that may be taxable above your allowances, while a cash ISA pays interest free of tax. How that balances out depends on your tax position, which is covered in cash ISA vs ordinary savings. You can hold both kinds at once.

Minimum deposits: from £1 in most cases, £1,000 at some

The typical entry point is low. Newcastle Building Society says most easy access accounts can be opened with as little as £119, and Barclays says the same about its easy-access range: "Start saving with as little as £1"20. Yorkshire Building Society's easy access accounts open with just £12, HSBC notes some easy access accounts can be opened with as little as £121, and Leeds Building Society says some of its easy access accounts can be opened and maintained with as little as £122. Which? reported in September 2023 that some accounts, including ones with market-leading rates, let you start saving with as little as £1 or nothing at all3.

Not every account is that open. Aviva's easy access account has a minimum deposit of £1,0006. At the other end, thisbank's Easy Access Savings Account takes a minimum deposit of £1 with a maximum of £500,00023, while Harrogate Building Society's range runs from £1 up to £250,000 for its standard easy access accounts, or £20,000 to £1m with its easy access tracker24.

Provider exampleMinimum depositMaximum deposit
Yorkshire Building Society easy access£1not stated2
thisbank Easy Access Savings Account£1£500,00023
Harrogate Building Society easy access£1£250,00024
Aviva easy access£1,000not stated6

Other providers sit in the same low-entry territory: Shawbrook's Bonus Easy Access Savings Account opens from £125, Chorley Building Society's Easy Access Affinity Account opens with £126, Wessex Community Bank's Instant Access Saver starts with just £127, and Melton Building Society's Single Access Saver opens with a minimum of £128.

The minimum matters less than it seems for most savers, but it does two practical things. First, it sets the barrier to opening an account for a small goal, and a £1 minimum means there is effectively no barrier. Second, the maximum deposit tells you whether the account can hold a large balance, which matters for FSCS protection: money above the protected limit with one banking group is at risk if the provider fails, so large balances are often better split across providers. That is covered in what happens to money above the FSCS limit.

How interest is paid: yearly, monthly or quarterly

Interest frequency varies by account, and it is worth checking because it affects when you can actually use the interest. Yorkshire Building Society's guidance says most easy access accounts pay interest once a year, with some paying every month instead2. AJ Bell, whose Cash Savings Hub includes easy access accounts, takes the opposite view of the market: easy access accounts usually pay interest every month, and some accounts may pay every three months instead7.

Individual providers show the full spread. Leek Building Society's Easy Access Saver pays interest annually29, and Nottinghamshire and Lincolnshire Credit Union's Instant Access Savings Account pays interest yearly30. thisbank calculates interest daily and pays it monthly into the account on the last working day of the month31.

Interest optionWhere it appears
AnnualThe most common pattern; Leek Easy Access Saver, Notts & Lincs Credit Union2
Monthlythisbank pays monthly on the last working day of the month31
QuarterlySome accounts pay every three months7

Monthly interest suits someone using the account for income, since the interest lands regularly and can be withdrawn or spent. Annual interest suits someone letting the balance grow, because interest left in the account compounds: it earns interest itself in later periods. How that works is explained in compound interest and how savings interest is calculated, and the way rates are quoted, including AER, is covered in AER, gross and fixed or variable rates explained.

Remember that the rate itself on an easy access account is variable. The provider can cut it, and it can also rise. When and how a provider may change your rate, and what notice you get, is covered in when a savings provider changes your rate.

Who can open one and how many accounts you can hold

There is no general limit on the number of easy access accounts you can hold. Yorkshire Building Society states: "There is no limit on the total number of easy access savings accounts you can have", though some providers may limit how many of a specific account you can hold2. TSB says the same about its instant access range: there is no limit to how many you can open, but some options may only allow one account17.

Providers set their own caps, and they differ widely:

  • Shawbrook allows up to five easy access accounts per customer, which can be sole or joint accounts32.
  • Monument allows only one Easy Access Savings account per customer33.
  • Hodge positively encourages multiple easy access accounts for different savings goals34.
  • Coventry Building Society allows more than one of its Easy Access Saver (7) accounts35.
  • Chorley Building Society permits only one Easy Access Saver (2 Withdrawals) per customer, though its other easy access accounts can be held alongside it36.

Joint holding is usually possible but not universal. When Which? checked the 10 top-paying easy access savings accounts in February 2026, two were not available to joint applicants at all, and one required the account to be opened in a single name first, with the second holder added later through a separate process37. Chorley Building Society allows its Easy Access accounts to be opened jointly, as long as it is not an Easy Access ISA Account, since ISAs can only be held in the sole name of the account holder38.

Age limits vary by provider, and even within one brand's range: Santander International's Easy Saver Account is described in one place as open to those aged 16 or over and in another as 18 or over, so the age rule for a specific account needs checking in its own terms16. Residency conditions also apply at some providers, particularly offshore and specialist banks. The general process, including identity checks, is covered in how to open a savings account, and joint holding in joint savings accounts.

Online, app, branch and passbook: ways to run the account

How you actually operate the account depends on the provider, and the choice has narrowed in recent years toward online. Yorkshire Building Society describes easy access accounts as straightforward to set up and manageable online2. Gatehouse Bank's Easy Access Cash ISA can be managed through its Savings App or its Online Savings Portal39. Danske Bank's Saver Plus can be applied for online or in branch40.

Santander International's Easy Saver Account shows the older, fuller model: it can be applied for in branch, online, by post or by phone16. That spread still exists at building societies and some banks, and a few accounts remain passbook-based, where you present the book in a branch to pay in or withdraw. How those work, including what to do if you lose the book, is covered in passbook accounts.

Way to run itTypical features
AppInstant balance checks, withdrawals on demand; offered by Gatehouse Bank and others39
Online portalFull management without branch visits2
BranchOver-the-counter deposits and withdrawals; offered by Danske Bank and Santander International16
Post and phoneStill available on some accounts, such as Santander International's Easy Saver16

The practical difference is speed and hours. An app or online account can be reached at any time and a withdrawal request can be made immediately, though the money then takes a working day or so to reach your current account11. A branch account gives you cash on the spot during opening hours. Neither is better in the abstract; it depends whether you value round-the-clock access or face-to-face service and cash handling. If you are choosing a provider partly on service, saving with a bank or a building society explains the differences between the two kinds of institution.

How to open an easy access account

Opening is usually quick. thisbank says its Easy Access Savings Account opens in less than 5 minutes31. Kent Reliance's Fixed Rate Bond issue pages carry the same simple instruction, "Apply online"41, and the online route is the default at most providers, with branch, post and phone alternatives where offered16.

Before applying, the summary box is the document to read: it sets out the interest rate, the withdrawal rules, when interest is paid and any conditions that could cost you interest. Raisin's guidance on opening a savings account walks through the same stages, including the identity checks providers are required to run10. You will normally need a current account to link to the savings account, because that is where withdrawals are sent.

After opening, you have a cooling-off period in most cases, during which you can change your mind. The rules are covered in cooling-off periods on savings accounts. If you later find a better rate, moving your money is straightforward, and the process is explained in how to move savings to a new account.

When fixed rate and bonus accounts turn into easy access

Easy access accounts are not only opened from scratch; they are also what many other accounts become. The clearest case is a fixed rate bond reaching the end of its term. Bank of Scotland states that after the fixed term ends, its Fixed Rate Bond "will change to an Instant Access Savings Account"42. That is the standard pattern across the market: if you give no instructions before maturity, the money rolls into an easy access account paying the provider's variable rate, which is often much lower than the fixed rate you were on.

The provider should write to you before maturity setting out your options, and that letter is the moment to act rather than let the transfer happen by default. What to do at that point, including comparing the maturity rate against new deals, is covered in what happens when a fixed-rate savings account matures and easy access vs fixed-rate savings.

Bonus rates work differently but end the same way. Some easy access accounts pay a temporary bonus on top of the underlying rate for an introductory period; Shawbrook's Bonus Easy Access Savings Account is an example of the type, opening from £125. When the bonus period ends, the account continues as an ordinary easy access account at the lower underlying rate. Because the headline rate is only part of the story, the mechanics are explained in bonus rates and savings promotions. The general rule across both cases is the same: an attractive rate with a time limit becomes a variable easy access rate when the limit passes, and the provider does not have to remind you beyond its standard notices.

Accounts closed to new savers: what existing customers keep

Providers sometimes close an account to new customers while keeping it open for those who already hold it. When that happens, existing savers keep the account and its terms, including its rate and withdrawal rules, but nobody new can open it. NS&I provides the clearest worked example: its Easy Access Savings Account has been closed completely since 27 July 2012, and holders can still apply to have their money repaid using a simple online form5.

A closed account is not a failed one. Providers close ranges for their own commercial reasons, and closure to new savers says nothing about the safety of money already in the account. What it does mean is that the account you read about may no longer be available, so a rate quoted for a closed account is a rate you cannot get. If an account you hold is closed to new customers, the terms you signed up to continue to apply until the provider changes them, and any rate change follows the normal rules on notice2.

The opposite also happens: accounts are withdrawn entirely and balances moved, as with maturing fixed accounts. In every case the provider must tell you what is happening and what your options are. If money in a closed NS&I account needs tracing, there is a guide to tracing lost NS&I savings, and closed NS&I products generally are covered in closed NS&I products.

Protection and where to get help

Money held with a UK-authorised bank, building society or credit union is protected by the Financial Compensation Scheme, and easy access accounts are covered like any other deposit. How the limit works, which providers share a licence, and what is excluded are explained in how FSCS protection works for savings. Two points catch savers out: balances across brands that share one banking licence count together towards one limit, and large balances, including from a house sale, need temporary high balance protection to be covered in full.

If something goes wrong with an account, the first step is to complain to the provider. If it does not resolve the complaint, the Financial Ombudsman Service can look at it, and its decisions are binding on the provider. The complaints route is explained in consumer protection in UK financial services.

For free help with saving decisions, MoneyHelper, the government-backed money guidance service, offers impartial information on savings accounts, and StepChange provides free debt advice, including guidance on building an emergency fund in an instant access account4. If you are deciding between saving and paying off debt, that comparison is set out in paying off debt or building savings first. How savings interact with means-tested benefits is covered separately in how savings affect Universal Credit and other benefits, and the tax position on interest, including the personal savings allowance, is in how tax on savings interest works.

Sources43 cited
  1. Savings account types explained Tesco Bank, 2026-02-19
  2. What is an easy access account Yorkshire Building Society, 2026-09-26
  3. The pros and cons of easy access savings accounts Which?, 2023-09-16
  4. Are ISAs still worthwhile Which?, 2025-26
  5. Closed accounts NS&I, 2026-08-27
  6. How to save money Barclays, 2026
  7. Instant access savings Nottinghamshire and Lincolnshire Credit Union, 2026
  8. Easy Access Account Summary Box Gatehouse Bank, 2026-08-20
  9. Savings decision tool Hodge Bank, 2026-09-25
  10. Opening a savings account Raisin UK, 2026-09-28
  11. Savings accounts Consumer Council for Northern Ireland, 2026
  12. Save a penny for a rainy day Hargreaves Lansdown, 2026-09-27
  13. Cash ISA exclusives key facts Virgin Money, 2026-04-03
  14. Depositing and withdrawing from your account Shawbrook Bank, 2026-09-26
  15. Easy Access Savings Account thisbank, 2026-03-10
  16. How to save for an emergency StepChange, 2026-09-25
  17. Easy access savings account Shawbrook Bank, 2026-09-26
  18. About our accounts Shawbrook Bank, 2026-09-26
  19. Guide to over 60s savings accounts HSBC, 2026-03-23
  20. Easy access accounts Newcastle Building Society, 2026-09-25
  21. Easy Saver Account Santander International, 2026-09-25
  22. Personal savings Harrogate Building Society, 2026
  23. Easy access savings Aviva, 2026-09-26
  24. Savings thisbank, 2026-07-15
  25. Easy access accounts Leeds Building Society, 2026-09-26
  26. Bonus Easy Access Savings Account Shawbrook Bank, 2026-09-25
  27. Easy Access Affinity Account Chorley Building Society, 2026-09-25
  28. Instant Access Saver Wessex Community Bank, 2026-09-26
  29. Key features, Easy Access Savings Account thisbank, 2026-09-25
  30. Savings accounts Leek Building Society, 2026-09-26
  31. Savings served your way Kent Reliance, 2026-09-26
  32. Easy access savings Monument, 2026
  33. Easy access Hodge Bank, 2026-08-11
  34. Should you open a joint savings account Which?, 2026-02-04
  35. Instant access savings TSB, 2026
  36. Regular saver FAQs Coventry Building Society, 2026
  37. When will I receive any interest, Cash Savings Hub AJ Bell, 2026
  38. Easy Access Saver (2 Withdrawals) Chorley Building Society, 2026-09-25
  39. Easy access accounts Chorley Building Society, 2026-09-26
  40. Easy Access Cash ISA Account Summary Box Gatehouse Bank, 2026-08-20
  41. Saver Plus Danske Bank, 2026-09-25
  42. Bonds Kent Reliance, 2026-09-26
  43. Fixed Rate Bond Bank of Scotland, 2026-09-27

Related guides

Fixed-rate bonds and fixed-term savings
Fixed-Rate BondsExplains fixed-rate bonds and fixed-term deposits: terms, funding windows, top-up rules, interest payment options and whether early access is allowed.
Regular savings accounts explained
Regular Savings AccountsHow regular savers work: monthly limits, missed payments, withdrawal restrictions, and why the interest earned is lower than the headline rate suggests.
Types of savings account
Types of Savings AccountSets out each kind of savings account side by side: easy access, limited access, notice, fixed-term, regular, children's, cash ISA and NS&I products.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a charge for withdrawing money from an easy access savings account?

Usually no. Easy access accounts are designed for withdrawals on demand, and providers such as Shawbrook and thisbank state there are no charges or early exit fees for taking money out. The exception is that some accounts limit the number of withdrawals you can make each year, and going beyond that limit can cost you interest rather than a cash fee. Check the summary box before opening.

Is instant access the same as easy access?

In practice, yes. Providers use the two names for the same kind of account, one where you can pay in and take out money whenever you need to. Tesco Bank notes that instant access accounts are sometimes called easy access accounts, and some brands use names like easy saver instead. The name matters less than the withdrawal rules, which are set out in each account's summary box.

Can I open an easy access savings account with £1?

Often yes. Many easy access accounts can be opened with as little as £1, and Which? has reported that some accounts with market-leading rates accept £1 or nothing at all. But minimums vary: Aviva's easy access account requires £1,000, and some providers set higher maximum balances too, so check the account terms first.

Can I have more than one easy access savings account?

Yes, and there is no general limit on the total number you can hold, though individual providers set their own caps. Shawbrook allows up to five easy access accounts per customer, Monument allows only one, and Hodge encourages multiple accounts for different savings goals. You can also hold accounts with several different providers at once.

Is interest paid monthly or yearly on easy access savings?

It varies by account. Yorkshire Building Society says most easy access accounts pay interest once a year, with some paying monthly instead. AJ Bell says easy access accounts usually pay interest every month, and some pay every three months. Some providers let you choose monthly or annual interest when you open the account.

What happens to my money when a fixed rate bond matures?

If you give no instructions, the money usually moves automatically into an easy access or instant access account paying a variable rate. Bank of Scotland states its Fixed Rate Bond changes to an Instant Access Savings Account after the fixed term ends. The provider should write to you before maturity, and you can then choose to leave it, withdraw it or move it to a new deal.

Can I open an easy access ISA as well as an ordinary easy access account?

Yes. An easy access cash ISA and an ordinary easy access account are separate products, and holding one does not stop you holding the other. Note that ISAs can only be held in your sole name: Chorley Building Society states its Easy Access accounts can be held jointly, but its Easy Access ISA accounts cannot.