Only 31% of the 962,000 pension plans accessed for the first time in 2024-25 were taken after receiving regulated advice, according to the latest release of the Financial Conduct Authority's retirement income market data1. The proportion of customers taking advice has now fallen for six years in a row1.
Around 350,000 new pension drawdown plans were taken out in 2024-25, and only 45% of schemes were set up after receiving advice, compared with 66% of drawdown policies in 2018-191. Across all pensions accessed, nearly six in 10 are taken without any professional advice or guidance at all1.
Take-up of the government-backed Pension Wise service, which offers face-to-face appointments at Citizens Advice offices or by telephone or online to over-50s with a defined contribution pension, also remains low. In 2024-25, just under 11% of pensions were accessed after a Pension Wise appointment, around 103,500 pots in total1.
The FCA's 2024 Financial Lives survey found that 75% of over-45s do not have a clear plan for how to take money from their pension, or did not realise they had to make a choice1. The FCA puts the average initial charge of advice at 2.4% of the amount invested, with ongoing fees of around 0.8%1.
| Measure | 2018-19 | 2024-25 |
|---|---|---|
| Drawdown plans set up after advice | 66% | 45% |
| All first-time pension accesses taken after regulated advice | Not reported | 31% |
| Pensions accessed after a Pension Wise appointment | Not reported | Just under 11% |
Why it matters for households
The figures cover the 962,000 pension plans first accessed in 2024-25, including the roughly 350,000 new drawdown plans opened in the year1. Most people reaching this point are making decisions without regulated advice or free guidance, at a stage when choices about how to take money from a pension are difficult to reverse.
All retirement income is subject to income tax, whether it comes from drawdown, annuity payments, defined benefit plans or fully cashed-in pensions1. The exception is the initial tax-free lump sum, also called the pension commencement lump sum, of up to 25% of a pot, with total tax-free cash capped at £268,275 for most people1.
What happens next
The FCA has proposed a new type of help called targeted support, which would allow firms to make suggestions to groups of consumers with similar characteristics, such as those not saving enough for retirement1. Firms would be allowed to offer this support for free but could charge for it1. A launch date of March 2026 is scheduled, and the FCA says it aims to finalise its new rules by the end of 20251.
Separate plans for "simplified advice" would provide individualised advice focused on a single, straightforward consumer need, without requiring a full assessment of circumstances and delivered at a relatively low cost1.


Pension WiseFree guidance on your options for a defined contribution pension, from age 50
FSCSProtects your money if a bank, insurer or investment firm fails
GOV.UKOfficial information on tax, benefits and government services