North Tyneside Employees Credit Union is a member-owned credit union for people who work for North Tyneside Council, its successors or partners, and for people retired from that common bond. It runs two things: a savings account and loans. There is no current account, no card and no mortgage. Savings earn a yearly dividend rather than interest, and the credit union provides free life insurance on loans and savings1.
Joining starts with a minimum deposit of £5.00 into the savings account, and you need proof of identity and proof of address when you apply2. Once you are a member, you can pay in by standing order, by salary deduction, or through one-off payments by debit card or cheque2. Borrowing is limited to one loan at a time, and a first loan is usually capped at twice the amount you hold in shares, with a lower cap during the first six months of membership3.
Savings are covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme up to £120,0002. The credit union is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority, and its register reference is 2133614.
What North Tyneside Employees Credit Union offers
The credit union describes its offer simply: "At North Tyneside Employees Credit Union, we offer a savings account and loans"2. That is the whole product range. There is no current account, no prepaid card, no cash ISA and no mortgage, which puts it at the narrower end of what credit unions in the UK do. Across the sector, many credit unions add junior savings accounts, Christmas savings accounts, prepaid debit cards, insurance products, cash ISAs and in some cases mortgages, but none of those are listed here7.
What it does offer comes with two features that matter more than the product list. The first is free life insurance on loans and savings, which the credit union lists as a membership benefit1. The second is a yearly dividend on savings instead of interest2. Both are common across credit unions rather than unique to this one: most credit unions offer free life or loan-protection insurance, and dividends rather than interest are the standard way credit union savings are rewarded8.
For anyone weighing up where to keep savings or borrow, the credit unions guide sets out how these member-owned organisations work across the UK, and the savings guide and loans guide cover the wider market these products sit in.
Who can join: the North Tyneside Council common bond
Every credit union in the UK may only accept members who share a "common bond", and that bond decides who is eligible9. At this credit union the bond is employment: you must work for North Tyneside Council, its successors or partners, such as Engie, Capita or local NHS, police, fire and rescue services, or be retired from the North Tyneside Council common bond1. Children who attend a North Tyneside primary school can join as well1.
That is a narrower door than some credit unions open. Others take anyone who lives or works in a defined area, or who belongs to the same trade union or church8. Some workplace credit unions have widened further: one press release on sector changes describes eligibility widening to include students, local workers and relatives of existing members10. Where a credit union's bond is employer-based, as here, the practical question for a reader is whether their employer counts as a successor or partner, and the credit union itself is the only body that can confirm that.
Across credit unions generally, other family members living at the same address can usually join if one family member meets the common bond and has joined8. Anyone in the house of a person with a common bond can usually join11. Whether that household route applies at this credit union is not stated in the material available, so it is a question to put to the credit union directly.
Savings earn a yearly dividend, not interest
Savings here do not pay interest. The credit union states that "unlike a regular savings account in which you receive interest, you will be rewarded for saving with us by payment of a dividend"2. It describes the dividend as attractive, and lists an attractive dividend on savings among its membership benefits1.
A dividend is not the same promise as interest. It is a share of what the credit union has left after covering its costs, decided by the members, and it can vary from year to year. Nothing in the material available states a dividend rate for this credit union, and no rate is given here. Other credit unions describe their own dividends in similar terms, as an attractive dividend paid each year on members' savings12.
The mechanics a saver needs to know are these. You open the account with a minimum of £5.002. You pay in by standing order, by salary deduction, or by one-off debit card or cheque payment2. Your savings are your shares in the credit union, which is why the amount you hold is described as your shares when borrowing limits are worked out3. And the savings are covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme up to £120,0002.
Loans: the three types and how borrowing limits work
The credit union says it currently provides three types of loan6. It does not publish a rate on the pages summarised here, and no rate is given on this page. What the material does set out is how much a member can borrow and how the limits are worked out.
The general credit union rule is that you can usually borrow at least two or three times the amount you have in savings, depending on the credit union's own loan policy14. That is the shape of the limit here too: a first loan is usually for a maximum of twice the amount you have in your shares, though this is usually capped3. The cap bites hardest at the start. In the first six months of membership the first loan is capped at £5003.
Credit union lending is small-scale by design. One independent guide describes credit unions lending small loans of around £50 to £3,00017, and another notes personal loans of up to about £3,00016. That range is the market this credit union sits in, not a figure it publishes. For anyone comparing borrowing options, the loans guide covers how lenders assess applications and what different types of loan cost.
Borrowing when you first join
New members do not have to wait long to borrow, but the amount is modest at the start. The credit union states that a first loan is usually for a maximum of twice the amount you have in your shares, though usually this is capped, and that in the first six months of membership the cap is £5003. Its STARTER loan is payable over 3 to 12 months3.
That pattern is common. Some credit unions will lend to you as soon as you become a member, while others only lend after you have saved for a set period, and affordability is checked against the money you have left after paying your bills8. The practical effect of a first-loan cap is that the amount available grows as your savings grow, so a member who wants to borrow more later is usually advised to keep saving rather than withdraw.
One condition applies from the outset: members can only have one loan at any one time6. That is a common credit union rule, and it means a second borrowing request normally waits until the first loan is cleared. It also means that if you are consolidating existing debts elsewhere, the credit union loan has to be large enough to clear them, which the first-loan cap may prevent. The debt guide explains the consolidation options and their risks, and free debt advice is available from StepChange and National Debtline if repayments are already a problem11.
How the membership fee and charges work
The credit union advertises "quality personal service with no hidden fees"1. It does not publish a membership fee on the pages summarised here, and no fee is stated on this page. For comparison, some credit unions make membership free, as Cardiff & Vale Credit Union does18, while others ask for a small sum in cash to activate the account when you apply19.
The charges that matter in a credit union are usually attached to borrowing rather than to joining. Interest on a loan is the main cost, and it is charged on the amount you borrow over the term you agree. Because no rate is published in the material available, the only reliable way to find today's figures is the credit union's own website or a call to its office. The same applies to any charge for a replacement passbook, a missed payment or an early settlement.
What can be said firmly is what the credit union does not charge for. There is no fee mentioned for the free life insurance on loans and savings, which is provided as part of membership1.
Free life insurance on savings and loans
Membership includes free life insurance on loans and savings1. This is one of the most useful features of credit union membership and one of the least understood, so it is worth being precise about what it does.
On the loan side, the cover normally repays the loan if the member dies before clearing it. Across the sector, when you borrow from a credit union you normally get free life insurance to cover the value of the loan, so the loan is repaid if you die before paying it back in full8. Most credit unions offer free life or loan-protection insurance8. Other credit unions describe the same benefit in their own terms: all loans covered by life insurance at no extra cost to the member20, and the balance paid in full if a member with an outstanding loan dies, with terms and conditions applying21.
On the savings side, the cover pays an insurance benefit on the member's savings to their beneficiary, again subject to policy terms. Credit unions commonly describe free life savings insurance for eligible members22, and one describes a bereavement fund under which a loan would be paid off and an additional payment from the fund could be added to the savings balance, subject to terms25. At this credit union the benefit is stated as free life insurance on loans and savings, and the policy terms and conditions govern what is paid1.
How to join and pay in
To join, you complete the relevant membership application form, available from the main office, the outreach office, or by requesting one by post1. You must provide proof of ID, such as a driving licence or passport, and proof of address, such as a recent utility bill, when submitting your application1. The credit union also accepts a bank, building society or Post Office statement, or a letter from the DWP, HM Revenue or another government body, dated within the last three months3.
Across credit unions generally, you will usually need to provide two recent documents to prove your identity and address, for example a passport, driving licence, student or work ID card, bus pass, birth certificate, bank statement or energy bill26. Some credit unions ask for photographic ID and proof of address specifically, such as a utilities bill, bank statement or government letter27, and some accept a current driving licence, a valid passport or an electoral ID card28. The Northern Ireland electoral ID card is accepted as a supplementary identity document in that jurisdiction29.
Once you are a member, you pay in by standing order, by salary deduction, or by one-off payments by debit card or cheque2. The credit union's own guidance puts it plainly: pay into your account by standing order and watch your money grow1. You must deposit a minimum of £5.00 into your savings account2.
Withdrawing savings while you have a loan
Savings are yours, but a loan changes what you can take out. Credit unions commonly treat savings as security against borrowing: members can withdraw savings provided they are not pledged as security for a loan13, and where a loan exceeds the savings held, a portion of the savings becomes pledged and may not be withdrawn, while any balance above the loan amount can be withdrawn from time to time30. Some credit unions go further and do not allow withdrawals at all while a member has a loan18.
The material available does not state this credit union's own withdrawal rule, so the position for a member with a loan here should be confirmed with the credit union. What is clear from the sector is the direction of travel: withdrawing savings while borrowing can affect future loan applications, because the amount you hold in shares is what the borrowing limit is calculated from3. A member who takes money out of savings reduces the amount they can borrow next time.
How your savings are protected
Savings with the credit union are covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, and the credit union states that this guarantees savings up to a value of £120,000 if anything were to happen to it2. That is the same protection other credit unions describe: savings protected by the FSCS8, and eligible deposits protected up to £120,000 per member in the event of the credit union failing32.
If you hold savings with another firm that shares the same licence, the amounts count together towards the one limit, so it is worth checking before placing large sums. The FSCS pays claims itself, and its own guidance explains who is involved in a claim32.
On regulation, the credit union is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority4. Its Financial Services Register reference is 213361, its status is Authorised with an effective date of 02/07/2002, and its permission covers accepting deposits4. It also appears on the Bank of England's list of UK-incorporated credit unions regulated by the PRA, dated 01 September 20265. Regulation of credit unions in Great Britain and Northern Ireland is undertaken by the FCA and the PRA33.
If something goes wrong with a credit union and you cannot resolve it directly, the Financial Ombudsman Service can look at complaints about firms regulated by the FCA. Free, impartial help with money problems is available from MoneyHelper, and free debt advice from StepChange and National Debtline11. The consumer protection guide explains how complaints and compensation schemes work across UK financial services.
Sources33 cited
- Membership North Tyneside Employees Credit Union, 2023-06-27
- Savings North Tyneside Employees Credit Union, 2025-12-01
- FAQ North Tyneside Employees Credit Union, 2021-04-08
- North Tyneside Employees Credit Union Limited Financial Conduct Authority, 2026-09-25
- Credit unions list Bank of England, 2026-09-25
- Loans North Tyneside Employees Credit Union, 2025-04-17
- About credit unions Find Your Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Credit unions Building Societies Association, 2026-09-15
- Credit unions House of Commons Library, 2026-07-08
- Help while waiting for a Universal Credit payment nidirect, 2026-06-30
- Credit unions StepChange, 2026-09-25
- Savings LTD Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Free life insurance Unify Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Debt consolidation National Debtline, 2026-09-26
- Debt consolidation Business Debtline, 2026-09-25
- 10 tips on paying off your debts Which?, 2026-04-06
- Short-term loan debt StepChange, 2026-09-25
- Savings North Coatbridge Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Loans North Coatbridge Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Who can join Tay Valley Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Savings Pomeroy Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Services Larne Credit Union, 2025-12-01
- Savings Dromore (Tyrone) Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Savings and loans Northern Community Bank, 2026-09-11
- Membership Slemish n tha Braid Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Credit union current accounts MoneyHelper, 2026-09-25
- Become a member Pennyburn Credit Union, 2026-05-01
- Membership Walsave Credit Union, 2026-06-20
- Documents to verify your identity for Universal Credit GOV.UK, 2026-06-09
- Savings Derrygonnelly Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Membership Stevenage Credit Union, 2026-09-26
- Who's involved in a claim Financial Services Compensation Scheme, 2026-09-25
- Credit union regulation Northern Ireland Assembly, 2025-03-14
















MoneyHelperFree, impartial money and pensions guidance, set up by government
FSCSProtects your money if a bank, insurer or investment firm fails
Financial Ombudsman ServiceFree, independent help when a complaint about a firm is not put right
StepChangeFree debt advice and solutions from a charity
Citizens AdviceFree advice on money, consumer and legal problems in England and Wales