Carer Support Payment (CSP) was introduced in Scotland as a replacement for Carer's Allowance (CA), piloted from November 2023, with full roll-out from November 2024 and case transfer completed in Autumn 20251. Administrative responsibility for Carer's Allowance had transferred to the Scottish Government in September 20181.
The change is part of a wider pattern of devolved disability and carer payments replacing UK-wide benefits in Scotland. Child Disability Payment replaced Disability Living Allowance for children, piloted July 2021, rolled out November 2021, with case transfer in Summer 2023; Adult Disability Payment replaced Personal Independence Payment and Disability Living Allowance for adults, piloted March 2022 and rolled out August 2022; Pension Age Disability Payment replaced Attendance Allowance, piloted October 2024, rolled out April 2025, with case transfer in Winter 2025; and Scottish Adult Disability Living Allowance followed in March 20251.
| Scottish payment | Replaces | Piloted | Rolled out | Case transfer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child Disability Payment | DLA (child) | July 2021 | November 2021 | Summer 2023 |
| Adult Disability Payment | PIP and DLA (adults) | March 2022 | August 2022 | Not stated |
| Carer Support Payment | Carer's Allowance | November 2023 | November 2024 | Autumn 2025 |
| Pension Age Disability Payment | Attendance Allowance | October 2024 | April 2025 | Winter 2025 |
Source: Benefit Combinations: Official Statistics to March 20261
Further changes to CSP are set out for March 2026. From that date, among other changes, the Scottish Government will introduce a Carer Additional Person Payment, described as an additional payment to someone caring for more than one person in receipt of a qualifying benefit, and will replace Carer's Allowance Supplement with Scottish Carer Supplement1.
"From March 2026, amongst other changes to CSP, the Scottish Government will introduce a Carer Additional Person Payment (CAPP) (an additional payment to someone caring for more than one person in receipt of a qualifying benefit) and will replace CAS with Scottish Carer Supplement (SCS)."
Devolved Scottish benefits including CSP, Child Disability Payment, Adult Disability Payment, Scottish Adult DLA, Carer's Allowance Supplement and Pension Age Disability Payment are not included in the DWP benefit combination release, which covers England, Scotland and Wales but presents figures separately for England and Wales and for Scotland because of devolution1. In Scotland there were 1.8 million people claiming DWP benefits in March 2026: 1.1 million of State Pension Age, 18% of whom claimed more than one benefit, and 800,000 of Working Age, 10% of whom claimed more than one benefit1. Across Great Britain, 24.5 million people claimed some combination of the 17 DWP benefits covered, the highest level since the series began in 20131.
Separately, legislation introduced in November 2025 provides for an extension of entitlement to DWP benefits, commonly referred to as a run-on period, of up to 13 weeks for PIP and 13 weeks and 6 days for CA, DLA and AA from the date of move1. The release does not state how this interacts with CSP for carers in Scotland; that has not been reported.
Why it matters for households
Carers in Scotland who claim Carer's Allowance have been moved onto Carer Support Payment, with case transfer completed in Autumn 20251. Because CSP is administered by Social Security Scotland rather than the DWP, it does not appear in the DWP benefit combination statistics, so the published totals for Scotland understate the number of people receiving carer support1. From March 2026, carers looking after more than one person who receives a qualifying benefit are covered by the new Carer Additional Person Payment, and Carer's Allowance Supplement is replaced by Scottish Carer Supplement1. The run-on period for Carer's Allowance, Disability Living Allowance and Attendance Allowance of up to 13 weeks and 6 days, and 13 weeks for PIP, applies from the date of a move under the November 2025 legislation1.
What happens next
The Carer Additional Person Payment and Scottish Carer Supplement take effect from March 20261. The DWP benefit combination release is now published once a year, covering data to the end of the previous financial year in March1. From May 2025, benefit combination statistics no longer include Income Support, since all IS claims are within scope of Move to Universal Credit1. Maternity Allowance statistics were suspended from the quarterly release on 13 August 2024 until data can be extracted from the new system1.
For background on how the Scottish payment differs from the UK benefit, see Carer's Allowance vs Carer Support Payment and Carer Support Payment and Young Carer Grant. The Carer's Allowance guide covers eligibility, the earnings limit and overlapping payments, with more on the limit in Carer's Allowance Earnings Limit and Breaks from Caring. For wider support, see Money Help for Unpaid Carers and Money help in Scotland. Payments when moving across the border are covered in Disability and carer payments when moving between Scotland and the rest of the UK.


Turn2usFree benefits calculator and grants search from a charity
Citizens AdviceFree advice on money, consumer and legal problems in England and Wales
GOV.UKOfficial information on tax, benefits and government services
MoneyHelperFree, impartial money and pensions guidance, set up by government